OpenTheo

Book Review: A Magnificent Catastrophe by Edward J. Larson

For The King — Rocky Ramsey

Book Review: A Magnificent Catastrophe by Edward J. Larson

October 20, 2021
For The King
For The KingRocky Ramsey

I am not including this book review in my monthly book review episode because there is far too much to interact with. To do this book justice I needed to create a longer episode exposing some of the helpful things it gets into. I hope you learn something and walk away with some thoughts whether you agree or not!

Resources on defining atheism as a religion:

* EDITORIAL Is Atheism a Religion? Recent Judicial Perspectives on the Constitutional Meaning of “Religion” DEREK H. DAVIS (Journal of Church and State)

* https://www.atheists.org/activism/resources/about-atheism/

* https://www.thebanner.org/columns/2019/01/is-atheism-a-religion

Get the book here -> https://www.amazon.com/Magnificent-Catastrophe-Tumultuous-Election-Presidential/dp/0743293177/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=a+magnificent+catastrophe&qid=1634397641&sr=8-1

Website: forthekingpodcast.com

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/For-The-King-105492691873696/

Contact: forthekingpodcast@gmail.com

--- Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/rocky-ramsey/support

Share

FacebookTwitterRedditCopy Link

Transcript

More on OpenTheo

Do You Believe in the Clarity of Scripture?
Do You Believe in the Clarity of Scripture?
#STRask
May 6, 2024
Question about whether Stand to Reason accepts the doctrine of biblical perspicuity (the idea that the Bible is clear in what it teaches about essenti
Screening Screens
Screening Screens
For The King
June 19, 2024
How should we think about screen as Christians? We hope this episode answers that exact questions. One thing that was omitted is that screens also con
#221 Big Questions for Tom from Children: why did God make mosquitos? why does this world suffer?! did God create hell? (replay)
#221 Big Questions for Tom from Children: why did God make mosquitos? why does this world suffer?! did God create hell? (replay)
Ask NT Wright Anything
June 13, 2024
Tom answers children's questions on today's show and tackles some of the ways we talk to children about tricky things like suffering and hell (and mos
Is an Embryo a Baby?
Is an Embryo a Baby?
#STRask
May 2, 2024
Questions about whether the fact that you can freeze an embryo but not a baby proves an embryo isn’t a baby and whether it would be wrong to use IVF w
#219 Title Why don’t I hear from God any more? (Replay)
#219 Title Why don’t I hear from God any more? (Replay)
Ask NT Wright Anything
May 30, 2024
Join Tom today as he sits down to answer a fresh batch of questions from listeners who are having trouble hearing from God. Nicole asks why 'Ask and y
How Will Jesus Sit at the Right Hand of God if He Is God?
How Will Jesus Sit at the Right Hand of God if He Is God?
#STRask
April 29, 2024
Questions about what the Bible means when it says Jesus will sit at the right hand of God if Jesus is God and why the writers of the Synoptic Gospels
What Should I Say to a Reformed Christian Who Dismisses Many Non-Believers as Lost Causes?
What Should I Say to a Reformed Christian Who Dismisses Many Non-Believers as Lost Causes?
#STRask
June 13, 2024
Questions about the best way to respond to someone who believes in double predestination and who dismisses many non-believers as lost causes and wheth
How Should I Respond to Someone Who Is Word-Faith and Believes in a Second Baptism of the Holy Spirit?
How Should I Respond to Someone Who Is Word-Faith and Believes in a Second Baptism of the Holy Spirit?
#STRask
April 25, 2024
Questions about how to respond to someone who is Word-Faith and believes in a second baptism of the Holy Spirit and what the Bible is saying about how
Conspiracy Theory and Autodidact Brain (with Susannah Roberts and Derek Rishmawy)
Conspiracy Theory and Autodidact Brain (with Susannah Roberts and Derek Rishmawy)
Alastair Roberts
April 20, 2024
The journalist and writer Naomi Wolf recently posted on Twitter about her reading of a New Testament interlinear: https://twitter.com/naomirwolf/statu
Is Church Just a Man-Made Way to Control People?
Is Church Just a Man-Made Way to Control People?
#STRask
June 10, 2024
Questions about what to say to someone who believes the Bible and church are man-made ways to control people who don’t want to think for themselves an
Does the Bible Teach That Elijah Was Reincarnated as John the Baptist?
Does the Bible Teach That Elijah Was Reincarnated as John the Baptist?
#STRask
May 9, 2024
Questions about responding to someone who says the Bible teaches reincarnation when it says John the Baptist “is Elijah who was to come” in Matthew 11
Your Identity in Christ and the Difference it Makes
Your Identity in Christ and the Difference it Makes
Knight & Rose Show
June 8, 2024
Wintery Knight and Desert Rose discuss the concept of "identity in Christ". We discuss how your identity in Christ changes your desires, capabilities,
Can Christians Who Have Died Hear Our Requests for Prayer?
Can Christians Who Have Died Hear Our Requests for Prayer?
#STRask
June 3, 2024
Questions about whether those in Heaven have a limited omniscience that enables them to hear our requests for them to pray for us, why Scripture comes
What’s the Best Evidence for the Reliability of the Old Testament?
What’s the Best Evidence for the Reliability of the Old Testament?
#STRask
May 23, 2024
Questions about the best evidence for the reliability of the Old Testament, whether Greg subscribes to the idea of four independent Gospel accounts or
The Blessing (and Danger) of Authority with Jonathan Leeman
The Blessing (and Danger) of Authority with Jonathan Leeman
Life and Books and Everything
May 22, 2024
We live in a day where authority is often rebuffed and where many people are quick to assume all authority is abusive authority. And yet, some authori