OpenTheo

Book Review (July) : John Macarthur Handbook of Effective Biblical Leadership

For The King — Rocky Ramsey

Book Review (July) : John Macarthur Handbook of Effective Biblical Leadership

August 6, 2021
For The King
For The KingRocky Ramsey

2 Timothy 4:13 : "When you come, bring the cloak that I left with Carpus at Troas, also the books, and above all the parchments."

When Paul is requesting what Timothy do when he comes back to him from his journey, he requests books and parchments. Who knows exactly what Paul was reading outside of the scriptures, but we do know that he valued books greatly. Gods word is given to us in books and books have been a conduit for information all throughout human history. This book review, I was only able to read one book this month. It was a good one though, tune in because you may want to read it! 

Pick up the book here -> https://www.amazon.com/MacArthur-Handbook-Effective-Leadership-Shepherds/dp/0736976302/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=John+macarthur+handbook&qid=1628289080&sr=8-2

Website: forthekingpodcast.com

Inquires : forthekingpodcast@gmail.com

--- Support this podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/rocky-ramsey/support

Share

FacebookTwitterRedditCopy Link

Transcript

More on OpenTheo

Where Have All the Fundamentalists Gone?
Where Have All the Fundamentalists Gone?
Life and Books and Everything
March 6, 2024
With two smart British historians—one from Oxford (Andrew) and one from Aberystwyth (David)--and one curious American pastor (Kevin), you might say th
The Just War Tradition
The Just War Tradition
Life and Books and Everything
March 20, 2024
Have you ever wondered if King Arthur was justified in cutting off all four limbs of Monty Python’s Black Knight when he refused the king passage? If
Tree?!? I am no Tree!!!
Tree?!? I am no Tree!!!
For The King
April 17, 2024
The LOTR trilogy has some amazing principles on how we think about the enchantment of nature. We hope you are edified during this discussion! Key Te
#210 The Problem of Evil and Suffering: questions with NT Wright (Replay)
#210 The Problem of Evil and Suffering: questions with NT Wright (Replay)
Ask NT Wright Anything
March 7, 2024
In today's Episode theologian and historian Tom Wright looks at listener questions on one of the biggest topics and questions the Christian faith face
Boldly Defending Truth in the Face of Compromise
Boldly Defending Truth in the Face of Compromise
Knight & Rose Show
March 9, 2024
Wintery Knight and Desert Rose discuss the task of defending the Bible's moral teachings in a culture that rejects moral knowledge. We discuss what th
How Can We Defend the Claim That Marriage Was Created by God?
How Can We Defend the Claim That Marriage Was Created by God?
#STRask
March 4, 2024
Questions about how to defend the claim that marriage was created by God and what to say to someone who doesn’t want her daughter to grow up Christian
How Should a Dad Talk to His Children about Attending Their Mom’s Same-Sex Wedding?
How Should a Dad Talk to His Children about Attending Their Mom’s Same-Sex Wedding?
#STRask
April 22, 2024
Questions about how a dad should talk to his children about attending their mom’s same-sex wedding, how a veterinarian should respond if someone who s
Has Apologetics Had a Positive Effect on Our Culture?
Has Apologetics Had a Positive Effect on Our Culture?
#STRask
April 4, 2024
Questions about whether apologetics has had a positive effect on people and our culture, whether the longtime privatization of our Christian faith has
Our Ancient Faith: Lincoln, Democracy, and the American Experiment with Allen Guelzo
Our Ancient Faith: Lincoln, Democracy, and the American Experiment with Allen Guelzo
Life and Books and Everything
February 14, 2024
He must be one of Kevin's favorite historians and favorite guests, because Dr. Guelzo is back for an unprecedented third visit to the LBE book-cave. A
How Can I Articulate the Beauty of the Christian Worldview in a Nutshell?
How Can I Articulate the Beauty of the Christian Worldview in a Nutshell?
#STRask
April 1, 2024
Questions about how to articulate the beauty of the Christian worldview in a nutshell and whether “separation of church and state” requires public sch
Chemist Fazale Rana Investigates the Origin of Life
Chemist Fazale Rana Investigates the Origin of Life
Knight & Rose Show
April 6, 2024
Wintery Knight and Desert Rose interview Dr. Fazale "Fuz" Rana about the appearance of first life on Earth. What are the minimum functions of a simple
#208 Questions about Doctrine, the Trinity and Baptism
#208 Questions about Doctrine, the Trinity and Baptism
Ask NT Wright Anything
February 29, 2024
What is the doctrine of the Trinity? Is the Trinity key to being a Christian? Is the doctrine of Baptism an essential? And should we be baptised if we
Fatherlessness and Mass Shootings
Fatherlessness and Mass Shootings
For The King
March 27, 2024
What does fatherlessness have to do with mass shootings? Surprisingly, a whole lot! Samuel's Substack: https://samuelbornman.substack.com/p/save-the
How Do I Know if I’m a Gardener or a Harvester?
How Do I Know if I’m a Gardener or a Harvester?
#STRask
March 28, 2024
Questions about how to know if we’re a “gardener” or a “harvester,” how to engage an apathetic person who says “I don’t know” to everything, and wheth
#205 What is Prayer, really?
#205 What is Prayer, really?
Ask NT Wright Anything
February 8, 2024
In this episode, Tom answers listener questions on prayer and shares some of his own habits and approaches to praying -- If God knows our needs, what’